NewsPress Release

EVIT Radio/Audio Production Students Nominated as Finalists for John Drury National High School Radio Awards

The Pulse Radio students in EVIT’s Radio/Audio Production program were nominated as finalists for 18 awards in nine different categories at the 2019-2020 John Drury High School Radio Awards. The nominations were released Thursday, with the winners to be announced at a virtual live ceremony on December 5th.

EVIT students Ellie Willard & Fatima Nava were both nominated for Best Newscast. Willard & Nava also dominated the Best Public Affairs Show category, with Willard nominated three times for her “Public Pulse” shows about Harvest of Hope, World Alzheimer’s Month & Jakelle’s Christmas Box, while Nava was nominated twice for her shows about Epilepsy Awareness & Suicide Prevention Awareness.

Jimmy Watters earned a nomination in the Best Sports Play-by-Play category, while Willard teamed up with classmates Amanda Krainski & Therese Thirkhill to earn a Best Podcast nomination for their “The 3 Muskettes” show exploring whether or not first-time eligible voters were going to exercise their right to vote in the 2020 general election.

EVIT students earned two nominations in the Best Promo category, with current senior Mira McAtee recognized for her Pulse Toy Giveaway promo and Spencer Cihak named a finalist for his Pulse Sports End of the Year promo. Also, three EVIT students were nominated for Best PSA – Amanda Krainski for her Tempe Coalition submission, Chase Andrade for his Don’t Text & Drive production and Therese Thirkhill for her Domestic Violence Awareness PSA.

Also in the Best Drama category, both AM & PM classes submitted their original versions of “The Day Santa Died,” with both picked as finalists. The AM group consisted of Willard, Krainski, Thirkhill, Ani Vasquez, Lucas Kleinman, Nevin Valenzuela and Edward Kaszycki, while the PM group was the collaborative efforts of Marc Baca, Eva-Marie Johnson, Jacob Henderson, Jonathan Navarro and Schuyler Malloy.

Finally, Pulse Radio was recognized as a finalist in the Best Use of Social Media category for its Instagram & Facebook “EVIT Radio Senior Salute” campaign, while was named a finalist in the Best Website category.

The complete list of finalists can be found here:

This is the second year that EVIT students have competed in the John Drury High School Radio Awards, a national competition, presented by North Central College in Naperville, IL and WONC-FM. In May 2019, students Katie Poloncak, Enrique Garcia, Adam Smith, Tito Sandoval & Alex Lamont won in the Best Promo category, while EVIT instructor Dave Juday was recognized as Best Advisor.

Justin Heintz

Digital Media Director and jack of all trades at 88.7 The Pulse.