NewsPress Release

EVIT Radio Students Win National John Drury High School Radio Awards

Current Pulse Radio students and recent grads of EVIT’s Radio/Audio Production program
won three national awards at the 2019-2020 John Drury High School Radio Awards. The
winners were announced during a virtual ceremony on Saturday, December 5th.

Ellie Willard (Class of 2020) won for Best Public Affairs Program for her show last
November about Mesa United Way’s “Harvest of Hope” program. Willard is a current
freshman at ASU’s Cronkite School of Journalism & Mass Communication.

Amanda Krainski (Class of 2020) won for Best PSA for her production this past May for
Tempe Coalition, encouraging fellow students to make smart decisions during this spring’s
stay-at-home order. Krainski continues to make an impact at EVIT, even after graduating, as
she currently serves as one of Teachers Aides in the Radio/Audio Production program. She’s
also preparing to begin classes at CRAS (Conservatory for Recording Arts & Sciences).

Also current EVIT seniors Marc Baca, Jacob Henderson, Schuyler Malloy and Jonathan
Navarro, along with 2020 grad Eva-Marie Johnson, teamed up to win Best Radio Drama. The
students wrote an original script and presented the parody “The Day Santa Claus Died,” live
on the air, last December. The drama was based loosely on a true story that took place in
Mesa, AZ in December 1932.


Overall, EVIT received 18 nominations in nine different categories this year. This is the
second year that EVIT students have competed in the John Drury High School Radio Awards,
a national competition, presented by North Central College in Naperville, IL and WONC-FM.
In May 2019, Katie Poloncak, Enrique Garcia, Adam Smith, Tito Sandoval & Alex Lamont
collaborated to win Best Station Promo, while instructor Dave Juday was named Best Radio

Justin Heintz

Digital Media Director and jack of all trades at 88.7 The Pulse.