NewsPress Release

UPDATE: EVIT Radio/Audio Production Students Nominated as Finalists for John Drury National High School Radio Awards

Mesa, AZ (August 16, 2021) – The Pulse Radio students in EVIT’s Radio/Audio Production program were nominated as finalists 20 times in 11 different categories at the 2020-2021 John Drury High School Radio Awards. The nominations were announced this morning, with the winners to be unveiled during a virtual ceremony on October 9, 2021.

EVIT ’21 graduate Donoven Ong was nominated five times, for Best Promo, Best Sportscast, Best Radio Drama, Best PSA & Broadcaster of the Year. Joining Ong in the Best Radio Drama category were ’21 classmates Karina Vargas & Matthew Estrada. Meanwhile, ’21 grad Essie Bianco was nominated three times, twice in the Best Public Affairs Show category, as well as for Best PSA.

Current EVIT students Finn Taylor & Amber Solomon were nominated as finalists for Best Newscast & Best Sportscast. Class of ’21 grad Sandro Becirbegovic & current student Justin Brooks were also nominated in the Best Promo category. The ’21 duo of Ryann Stanage & Eliza Gustafson were named as finalists for Best DJ. Current senior Anthony Fazio got a nod in the Best Specialty Music Show category. The Pulse was also nominated in the Best Website & Best Use of Social Media categories. Lastly, three EVIT students – Ong, Solomon & Taylor – are finalists in the new Broadcaster of the Year category. To be eligible for the award, students had to have submitted an entry in each of the news, sports & DJ/specialty music show categories.

This is the third year that EVIT students have competed in the John Drury High School Radio Awards, a national competition, presented by North Central College in Naperville, IL and WONC-FM. In the previous two competitions, EVIT’s Radio/Audio Production program has won five awards, including three in 2019-2020.

Update – August 23rd, 2021

We’ve been informed that the “Best Podcast” category was missing from the initial Drury Award Nominations announcement. With that being said, 2 more of our students were named a finalist in that category – Kelli Anderson (’21) & current senior Monika Villanueva! So 21 total finalists in 12 different categories!

Justin Heintz

Digital Media Director and jack of all trades at 88.7 The Pulse.